Well done to all our 2013 Awards winners!

30 July 2013

in Events, Sponsors & Supporters, The Latest News, Volunteers

Some of our winners with Tom & Liz and Tony & Sheila

Some of our winners with Tom & Liz and Tony & Sheila

This year’s Annual Awards were presented in two main ceremonies, one for the Monday and one for the Tuesday classes.  It was lovely to welcome the past owners of Badger, Tom and Liz Hale, and Jo Kibble, Keira’s owner and some of our friends and supporters on the Tuesday and we hope they enjoyed seeing our riders ‘in action’ on their ponies.

All of our riders have been progressing well and it is a difficult choice each year to single out a few to receive our  cups, shields and trophies that have been so kindly donated by riders, volunteers past and present and supporters of our Group.

The winners for this year are:

The South Award for the ‘Most Improved rider’ was presented by Tony and Sheila South to Sean Oakes.

The Hughes Family Award for the rider ‘with fortitude and perseverance’ was presented to Lisa Mclaughlin

The Heather Rhead Award for ‘Confidence’ was presented by Hilary Rhead to Jules Reed

The Tracey Clarke Award for ‘the child who consistently tries hard’ was presented to Leo Burbidge

The Neil Hancock Award for the ‘one who has made good progress’ was presented to Holly Hopkins with a special rosette awarded to Scarlett Lee Lewis

The Pauline Richards Award for ‘the child who can meet the challenge’ was presented to Arthur Duggan

The NEW Michael Jack Award for ‘Jumping Skills’ was presented to Matthew Lane


We also like to recognise our fabulous team of volunteers not just those who help with our riding sessions by leading and sidewalking but those who come really early to help wash, groom, tack-up, ride our ponies and help with fundraising events.  This year’s awards went to:

Alex Suffell who was presented with the Boris Award for the ‘Volunteer who is always willing’.

Alex was also presented with her Certificate and badge for successfully completing her Young Persons Equestrian Award (YELA)

Rhianna Lindsay was presented with the Clements Young Volunteer of the Year Award and our ‘Over and Above’ Awards were given to, Jon Bladon, Jan Beattie, Rosanne Mann, Jean Oakes and Clare Blakemore.

Without our volunteers the Group would not exist so WELL DONE and THANK YOU to all our Award winners.

{ 0 comments… add one now }

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: